Father Mulligan's Heritage Bar
Stories of St. Edward
Inspired by the rich history of The Lodge, Father Mulligan's Heritage Bar is named after Saint Edward Seminary's first president, Father Thomas Mulligan, S.S.
The priesthood was the great preoccupation and the love of Father Mulligan's life. He was considered a pioneer through heading up the opening of Basselin College in New York, and led the school for seven years with distinct authority. He then responded to the call of his superiors who sent him to open a new seminary – Saint Edward – in Kenmore, Washington. He arrived in July, 1930 to plan the building and oversee construction. He augmented the steps being taken for the gathering of the funds necessary for the project, and oversaw every detail. Every stone of the building, every section of the grounds, as well as every student of the house, bore his mark. He was given the familiar name, “Father Tom”, so much was he considered the friend and benefactor of the seminary students. And now, his name will live on as the namesake of our welcoming Heritage Bar.
Today Father Mulligan's Heritage Bar offers an inviting atmosphere for guests to drop in and enjoy classic cocktails, craft beers, local wines and a menu of classic dishes, showcasing wood-fired flatbreads, charcuterie, house-made burgers, and playful desserts. Heritage Bar exists in harmony with Cedar + Elm, offering lively libations to accompany guests' dining experience.
Cornerstone time capsule laying ceremony on October 13, 1930. From left to right: Fr. John Francis Fenlon, S.S.; Archbishop Edward Howard; Delegate Pietro Fumasoni-Biondi; Bishop Edward O'Dea; Fr. Thomas C. Mulligan,
Photograph courtesy the Archives of the Archdiocese of Seattle.